A quick ‘hello’ and plans for the blog over the next few weeks

Hello, and thanks for dropping by. It’s still early days for me as far as blogging goes, but I thought it might be useful if posted a few lines on my plans for this blog and what you can expect to see over the forthcoming weeks.

I’ve started this blog primarily to share my thoughts and reviews of books. If you follow me @JacquiWine on twitter, you’ll probably be aware that I’ve been participating in a shadow group for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize (IFFP) 2014. The prize aims to honour the best work of fiction by a living author which has been translated into English from any other language and published in the United Kingdom in 2013. Our shadow group, ably chaired by Stu at Winstonsdad’s blog, consists of a group of six bloggers and readers from around the world. Over the past couple of months, we’ve all been reading, reviewing and rating the longlisted books. My fellow shadow-group members (Bellezza, David, Stu, Tony Malone and Tony Messenger), along with Naomi at The Writes of Women, have been hosting my IFFP reviews as guest posts and I’ll be publishing my reviews here over the next two weeks. In order to get started, I’ve already posted my reviews for the following four books:

The Corpse Washer by Sinan Antoon (translated from the Arabic by the author)

The Iraqi Christ by Hassan Blasim (translated from the Arabic by Jonathan Wright)

Ten by Andrej Longo (translated from the Italian by Howard Curtis)

A Meal in Winter by Hubert Mingarelli (translated from the French by Sam Taylor)

I’m planning to publish reviews for the other IFFP-longlisted books over the forthcoming weeks with a new post every 2 or 3 days or so. I’ve yet to post reviews here for many of my favourites from this year’s IFFP, so do keep an eye out for future raves!

I’m also planning a couple of posts on Elena Ferrante including reviews of the first two books in her Neapolitan Novels series — My Brilliant Friend and The Story of a New Nameboth of which come with a very high recommendation from me. These reviews will probably be up in a couple of weeks from now.

While the focus for the IFFP is fiction in translation, I read a range of literary fiction, both contemporary and older works – novels, novellas and short story collections. I also enjoy the occasional non-fiction book, too. Alongside translations, I’m particularly interested in anything noirish/hardboiled, relatively modern classics and the best in contemporary fiction, so I plan to cover a variety of books (not solely translations).

As you may have gathered from my name, I’m a lover of wine, so I’m sure I’ll be posting some thoughts on favourite wines (just as a way of documenting my own wine notes).

Well, that’s about it for now. Thanks for dropping by and reading. If you have any comments or thoughts on the blog, I’d love to hear from you. And thanks for all the very kind support, RTs, messages and favourites on twitter – it means a lot.

9 thoughts on “A quick ‘hello’ and plans for the blog over the next few weeks

    1. jacquiwine Post author

      Thanks, Stu! And thank you for your support over the past few weeks. It’s being involved in the IFFP shadow group that’s given me a taste for sharing thoughts and reviews. Looking forward to continuing to follow your blogs, too.

      Reply
    1. jacquiwine Post author

      Thanks, Claire! Oh, that’s great news. I’d love to hear what you think of Elena Ferrante and it’d be great to chat to you about her books at some point.

      Reply
      1. Claire 'Word by Word'

        I downloaded the first book today, I had a sample already and its been on my radar for too long to hesitate any further. Will let you know what I think for sure, so great to find others reading translated fiction and particularly by women writers since they are so marginalised.

        Reply
  1. jacquiwine Post author

    Brilliant! Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it. Yes, it’s wonderful to discover new women writers in translation, especially one who writes with as much verve as Ferrante.

    Reply
    1. jacquiwine Post author

      Thanks, Naomi! And thank you for your support and opportunities for guest posts over the past few weeks, I really appreciate it.
      I might post the occasional cake recipe, too. Nothing flashy, just one or two favourite home-bakes :)

      Reply

Leave a comment or reply - I'd love to hear your thoughts

