Weekend Wine Notes: Hatzidakis Santorini

There has not been much in the way of wine writing on here in recent months so I thought I would post a short note about a favourite wine – it’s a white wine from Greek islands, perfect for the spring sunshine we’ve been enjoying the UK.

IMG_1809

Hatzidakis Santorini is a brilliant showcase for the assyrtiko grape, native to the Greek island of Santorini. This wine is quite full, minerally, almost tropical in style with melon and stone fruit and a slightly herby aroma, but there’s enough lemony citrus acidity to cut through the richness leaving a clean finish. This is a food wine, a great match for salmon with herb butter, and worth trying as an alternative to Chardonnay.

Wine stockist (UK): I bought my bottle of the Hatzidakis (2012 vintage) from The Wine Society. The Society has now moved on to the 2013 vintage priced at £11.50 per bottle. Also available from Waitrose £12.99 pb. Alternatively, if you are interested in finding this wine, you could use Wine-Searcher to check availability in other countries.

(Please feel free to ignore these posts if they are of absolutely no interest to you, it’s just a place for me to record a few wine notes!)

4 thoughts on “Weekend Wine Notes: Hatzidakis Santorini

  1. Scott W.

    Assyrtiko – my favorite white wine in the world! (Not that I know anything about wine). Curiously, it’s a wine that seems to taste vastly better when accompanied by a plate of grilled barbounia at a seaside taverna in the Cyclades.:)

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Hurrah, another Assyrtiko fan! Well, I already knew you had great taste in books, and now I know it extends to wine too.

      There’s something wonderfully satisfying about drinking a wine in its natural surroundings…all accompanied by the local cuisine (grilled barbounia sounds like the perfect match). If you’re ever looking to recreate the Cyclades experience, I can recommend the Hatzidakis. The Gaia wines are also very good.

      Reply
  2. Brian Joseph

    I am beginning to learn a bit about wine.

    My wife and some of our friends are more versed then I am and their interest is ribbing off upon me, just a little. I will pass this recommendation on to her.

    I do not know much about Greek wine but this sounds good.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      There are some very smart wines coming out of Greece at the moment, and this is a great example (Assyrtiko is native to Santorini). It’s different to Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc or other ubiquitous wines, perhaps a little more interesting too. I’d like to encourage more people to try Assyrtiko and Greek wines in general!

      It’s fun to try a few different wines, and hopefully you’ll discover something new…much of it comes down to personal taste in the end. :)

      Reply

Leave a comment or reply - I'd love to hear your thoughts

