Elizabeth and Ivy by Robert Liddell – on Elizabeth Taylor and Ivy Compton-Burnett

I can’t quite remember how I first came across this book or who recommended it to me, but it must have been during a conversation about Elizabeth Taylor, a writer whose work I adore. Anyway, whoever it was, I’m very grateful for the tip!

The British writer and literary critic Robert Lidell describes Elizabeth and Ivy as an attempt to ‘give some account of my friendship with two distinguished writers, and of their friendship with each other’ – namely, Elizabeth Taylor and Ivy Compton-Burnett. (The title is a nod to Kay Dick’s book Ivy and Stevie about Ivy Compton-Burnett and Stevie Smith.) It’s a short, engaging book, unfolding as a series of reflections augmented with snippets from letters Robert received from Elizabeth Taylor describing her interactions with Ivy C-B. Moreover, there are also some interesting musings on Elizabeth’s and Ivy’s books here, which are fascinating to read.

Robert’s friendship with Elizabeth started in the autumn of 1948 when the latter wrote to Robert, complementing him on his novel, The Last Enchantments. Also enclosed was a copy of Elizabeth’s most recently published book, A View of the Harbour, an affectionate gesture from one writer to another. Robert duly read and enjoyed Harbour – in fact, he had already admired Elizabeth’s first novel, At Mrs Lippincote’s, which had been passed on to him by his aunt, a woman of great taste, who thought the book ‘remarkably intelligent’.  Thus began a long sequence of correspondence between Elizabeth and Robert, although it was several years before they were able to meet in person.

While many of the letters Robert received from Elizabeth were destroyed at the latter’s request (mostly because she didn’t want anything to remain that might hurt her friends), some of the more literary-focused letters survived; and it is these documents that Robert references in the book. (I should mention here that Robert also knew Ivy personally, but when he moved abroad in 1947 following his brother’s death, their meetings came to an end. Hence, Robert’s primary source of news about Ivy from the late ‘40s onwards seems to have been Elizabeth’s letters.)

I’ve yet to read anything by Ivy Compton-Burnett – A House and Its Head is sitting in my TBR. Nevertheless, I understand she is something of an acquired taste – brilliant, cutting and highly individualistic, someone who doesn’t suffer fools gladly. In some respects, this impression is reinforced here, particularly through Elizabeth’s observations on being invited to Ivy’s house for lunch.

The same food of course – the boiled bacon and parsley sauce and the white pudding. She [Ivy] carved up Muriel Spark and Iris Murdoch at the same time as the bacon. Marriage and religion were discussed and deplored. I felt guilty to be married and to have stayed married so long, and was all almost thankful not to be religious. Rose Macaulay has never been forgiven. (p. 93)

And here is Ivy on Olivia Manning’s latest book, probably The Doves of Venus as the passage comes from a letter dated 1955.

In the drawing-room was Olivia Manning’s book…[Ivy:] ‘It really is full of very good descriptions. Quite excellent descriptions. I don’t know if you care for descriptions. I don’t.’ A little later, she glanced again at the book and said: ‘A side of life I know nothing about. And I can’t think how she [Olivia Manning] does either.’ (p. 57)

Of particular interest to me are Robert’s thoughts on writing; how Elizabeth can take a small incident or occurrence and weave it into her fiction. She thinks and writes in scenes, creating and shaping characters to allow these scenarios to evolve.

From time to time, between the novels, Elizabeth’s stories began to appear. They did not express or reveal but played with her own experience, or she wove fancies from tiny fragments of fact – at least this I sometimes thought I recognized. Like Henry James, she found the tiny ‘germ’ in a happening, and then had to create people to bring it about; unlike Turgenev, who began with creating people, and then watched and listened for what they would do or say. (p. 67)

I also love Robert’s observations on some of the themes in Elizabeth’s novels, principally loneliness, which seems central to much of her work.

Elizabeth wrote somewhere: ‘I think loneliness is a theme running through many of my novels and short stories, the different ways in which individuals can be isolated from others – by poverty, old age, eccentricity, living in a foreign country – even by having committed murder, as in A Wreath of Roses (there are several kinds of loneliness in that novel).’ (p. 103)

One could argue that this also applies to another of Taylor’s best novels, The Soul of Kindness. Here we have Flora’s mother, Mrs. Secretan, living alone and haunted by a fear of cancer; the housekeeper, Miss Folley, who fills her empty life by writing elaborate love letters to herself; and the gay novelist Patrick Barlow, who waits, sometimes in vain, for his unreliable lover to turn up. Then there’s Mrs Palfrey at the Claremont, a beautiful, bittersweet portrayal of the difficulties of ageing, a novel infused with loneliness in various forms.

As Elizabeth and Ivy is a short book, I’ll leave it there in terms of my description, but what emerges is a picture of a close and valuable friendship between Robert Liddell and Elizabeth Taylor – a candid, platonic relationship built on mutual trust and respect. Naturally, Ivy looms large throughout, but mostly filtered through Elizabeth’s preceptive lens in the letters she sends to Robert.

Robert and Elizabeth continued to correspond for more than twenty-five years; and while Robert never returned to England after 1947, Elizabeth travelled to Greece to see him five or six times, mostly in the 1960s and ‘70s. I’ll finish with a passage that seems to capture something of this fascinating book – a must-read for Elizabeth Taylor fans/completists and anyone interested in women’s writing from this period.

These two wonderful friends had in a measure made up to me [Robert] for being sans famille. To Ivy I almost felt as a nephew (and like E. M. Forster I descend from ‘a long line of maiden aunts’, a proud pedigree). To Elizabeth I felt almost as a brother, the more so that we had Ivy in common as an aunt… (pp. 122–123)

Elizabeth and Ivy is published by Peter Owen; personal copy.

32 thoughts on “Elizabeth and Ivy by Robert Liddell – on Elizabeth Taylor and Ivy Compton-Burnett

  1. carolnovis

    Ivy Compton Burnett is worth reading. There is no one like her! I see her as the anti Barbara Pym. (Her books were the subject of my MA thesis, many, many years ago.)

    Btw, I love your journal and I have never been disappointed with your recommendations. Obviously we love the same books.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      I love the sound of an anti Barbara Pym – social comedy etched in acid! I shall have to elevate A House and Its Head, especially as I already own a copy.

      And thank you so much for your kind words about my blog, that really lovely to hear. I’m glad we seem to enjoy the same types of books!

      Reply
  2. Jane

    I haven’t read anything yet by either writer although ET has been on my to read list for years, but this sounds wonderful. Ivy C-B sounds dreadful, although hilarious too! And the insights into writing are very interesting, thank you for the nod Jacqui this is a must read, and I presume adds a lot to the TBR as well?!

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Goodness, yes! I’ve read nearly everything by Taylor – just her final short story collection to go now – but nothing by IC-B, so there’s plenty to keep me occupied. Elizabeth Taylor is a marvel, easily one of my top 5 writers. I can’t recommend her highly enough!

      Reply
  3. Marcie McCauley

    I miiiiight have been behind this mention; I discovered it in the Toronto Reference Library while researching for an Elizabeth Taylor essay and I really loved it. The intimate feel of it, the oh-so-specific details.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Oh, thank you, Marcie – I could well have been you! The details are wonderful, aren’t they? And you’re right, there’s a lovely intimate feel to Elizabeth’s letters to Robert, without any hints of romance or similar expectations to get in the way!

      Reply
  4. griffandsarahthomas

    I agree with the anti-Pym comment re ICB and love your tagline – ‘social comedy etched in acid! I had not heard of ICB until I started following stuckinabook, (Simon’s blog; he loves ICB). You definitely need to concentrate and be in a certain mood, but, if those conditions are satisfied, ICB’s books are clever and funny. I shall be very interested to know what you make of A House and Its Head if you try it. I have read a few, but I can’t remember if I have read that one. I would also recommend Robert Liddell’s book about ICB , The Novels of ICB. I found I appreciated the books more after reading his analysis.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Oh, this is so useful, Sarah, thank you! I definitely want to get to Ivy, especially having had a taste of her via this fascinating little book. A House and its Head is one of four IC-Bs reissued by Pushkin Press a couple of years ago, so I’m hoping it’s one of her best. Thanks, also, for the reminder about Simon. He’s such a great champion of these somewhat neglected women writers, so there’s bound to be quite a lot of info on his blog. :)

      Reply
      1. griffandsarahthomas

        You’re welcome!

        Since my comment above. I’ve just checked the tbr shelf and I see I have an orange and white rather battered copy of A House and its Head waiting there (shamefully I admit it was hidden because they were double stacked!).

        Yes, Simon’s blog was my entry into the wonderful world of book blogging. I discovered the magical portal after reading the British Library Women Writer’s copy of Dangerous Ages – like the wardrobe door into Narnia! Simon’s knowledge is formidable, especially for the interwar women writers. I discovered you because he listed the other blogs he followed!

        P.S I’m sure you know but I have just discovered that the next BLWW title is published today (Stories for Summer and Days by the Pool!)😎

        Reply
        1. JacquiWine Post author

          How lovely! Simon is indeed incredibly knowledgeable on women writers from the interwar years, and I’m delighted to hear that you found your way here via his links to other blogs. Your ‘Narnia’ analogy is spot on!

          And thanks for the reminder about the latest BLWW anthology. I’d seen it in the publishing schedules a while back but then promptly forgot that it would be coming this week. :)

          Reply
  5. Janakay | YouMightAsWellRead

    I must have this book — it sounds wonderful! I share your love for Taylor (although I’m not nearly as well read as you regarding her work). My history with ICB is a bit problematical. I had several unsuccessful attempts at one of her novels (can’t remember which one), thrown mainly by her style; as I recall, there were no descriptions (guess we now know why!), with dialogue carrying the story. Then I just started reading and didn’t come up for air for quite some time (ICB wrote lots & lots of novels). I really adore her work (although I haven’t read any of it in a very long time) — that razor sharp wit and deep insight into the nastier aspects of human nature are really unequaled. There was quite a good biography of ICB several years ago, which I unfortunately discarded during a major move; her life was every bit as dark as some of her novels.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      It’s so interesting to hear about your history with IC-B! I do get the sense that she’ll require a bit of effort on my part as her style sounds somewhat challenging – Elizabeth Bowen and Sybille Bedford also spring to mind here. Nevertheless, the biting wit and insights into the nastier sides of human nature (as you rightly put it) sound well worth the effort and perseverance required.

      As for Robert Liddell’s book, I think you’d love it! :-)

      Reply
  6. hopewellslibraryoflife

    What an interesting review! I’ve heard of both authors and have a book or two by each and more on my TBR. The quotes here are what draw me in. The digs and the humor! I may have to give them each a shot sooner rather than later. Nice work!

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      The quotes are great, aren’t they? It’s an eminently quotable book, a real treasure trove for readers. As for Elizabeth Taylor, I cannot recommend her highly enough. She’s easily one of my top 5 favourite authors, and I can’t say fairer than that!

      Reply
      1. hopewellslibraryoflife

        Well, that settles it! I must read something by her soon! I’ll go see what the one is I have and see what’s on my TBR. Surely SOMETHING is in audio, right? I’m doing better with print/kindle reading but those 2 hours of daily commuting mean tons of audios.

        Reply
        1. JacquiWine Post author

          Yes, there must be something on audio – and if not, there really should be. Mrs Palfrey is a great starting point – it was my first, the gateway drug to the rest of her work. The only two I would caution against as possible starting points are Angel (very perceptive, but it’s crueller/less sympathetic than her other novels, and therefore a bit of an outlier) and Palladian (which I found less compelling than the rest). Her short stories are marvellous too and almost certainly available on audio.

          Reply
  7. kaggsysbookishramblings

    I’d not heard of this book before, Jacqui, and it sounds absolutely fascinating! How intriguing that Ivy and Elizabeth were friends, that somehow seems unexpected to me too. I have several of Ivy’s books on the shelves unread, and I think I’ve always been a bit intimidated by them (though I know Simon at Stuck in a Book loves her). Certainly, from the quotes you share, she lives up to my impression of her!

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      It really is fascinating, and I only heard about myself when someone, possibly Marcie, mentioned it during a conversation at some point. Liddell was friends with both women, but it’s so interesting to see IC-B filtered through Taylor’s very perceptive lens. I’m now very eager to read her!

      Reply
  8. Simon T

    This was one of those ‘I can’t believe this exists!’ books for me a while ago, since it covered two authors I love so much. It really is full of very good descriptions. Quite excellent descriptions. I don’t know if you care for descriptions. I don’t. is quintessential Ivy and I remember noting it down at the time! It’s so good.

    I can’t wait for you to try ICB – I *think* you’ll love her, but she is definitely not for everyone.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Yes, same! I couldn’t quite believe it either when someone mentioned it in a conversation – maybe it was you, Simon? Anyway, even though I’ve yet to try IC-B, I knew I had to read it for the Taylor content alone. Thanks for the endorsement of A House and Its Head over on Twitter. I shall start there to see how I get on!

      Reply
  9. heavenali

    Well this sounds absolutely marvellous. Not a book I had ever heard of, though I know of Robert Liddell through reading about him in Nicola Brauman’s biography of Elizabeth Taylor. I have only read one Ivy Compton Burnett novel, I liked it, but it didn’t make me rush out to read more, though I can’t remember too much about it. I have always had the impression that she was pretty scathing about many other writers.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      I genuinely think you’d love this for the Elizabeth Taylor content alone. It’s the reason I bought it, and it did not disappoint. As you know so well, Taylor has a very sharp eye, nothing gets past her, and that’s very much the case here. Even though I knew very little about IC-B going in, I feel I have a good insight into her personality from Taylor’s letters to Liddell – and the latter’s reflections on their relationships, of course. It really is a delight!

      Reply
  10. Liz Dexter

    That sounds wonderful (I wonder how Ivy carved up Iris Murdoch!). I haven’t read Ivy, I always worry I’m not clever enough; I know Simon loves her, though.

    Reply
  11. pagebypage14

    I have this book TBR and can’t think why I haven’t read it yet. I became interested in Robert Liddell because of his friendship with Barbara Pym which began when they were both at Oxford. They used to write letters to each other in I-C-B’s style, and it’s interesting that Liddell and I-C-B became friends later. I didn’t care for Liddell’s book about Pym’s novels but did enjoy one of his novels and have another TBR. I too have read almost all of Elizabeth Taylor’s work and have also read two I-C-B novels which I loved. I’m eager to read more. Thank you for your review! Grier

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      A pleasure! This is fascinating to hear, Grier! Yes, I also first heard of Robert Liddell when I started reading about Barbara Pym. He came up a lot in Paula Byrne’s biography, and that might have been when I picked this book up. This is the only book by Liddell that I’ve read so far, but I do have a copy of The Enchantments on the shelves, so it’ll be interesting to see how I get on.

      I’m also encouraged to hear that you loved the two IC-B novels you’ve read to date. Wonderful stuff!

      Reply
  12. 1streading

    As you know, I’m reading through Elizabeth Taylor’s work this year – this would make a good follow-up! Thanks for drawing my attention to it.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      I think you’d find it interesting, Grant. I bought it mainly for the Taylor content, and it did not disappoint. She has a very perceptive understanding of human nature…

      Reply

Leave a comment or reply - I'd love to hear your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.