Kick the Latch by Kathryn Scanlan

The publishing arm of Daunt Books has been on a winning streak recently, with a run of top-flight reissues/releases from critically-acclaimed writers such as Natalia Ginzburg, Nona Fernández, Celia Dale and Elisa Shua Dusapin. Now I can add Kathryn Scanlan to that list, courtesy of her remarkably powerful book, Kick the Latch, recently published in this beautifully-produced edition.

Described as a work of fiction, Kick the Latch is based on a series of interviews Scanlan conducted with an American horse trainer named Sonia between 2018 and 2021. As such, the novella thrums with a strong sense of authenticity, alive with the sights and sounds of the racetrack – a male-dominated world where resilience and determination are necessary for survival. Through a series of short vignettes (mostly around a page in length), Scanlan skilfully builds up a composite picture of Sonia’s life from childhood to middle age – spare in terms of prose style but rich in visual imagery.

Sonia is raised in a poor neighbourhood in Iowa’s Dixon City, where money is tight and luxuries are few and far between. From an early age, she develops an interest in horses, learning to ride on Rowdy, a small mustang she finds at a local stable.

If I was in a good mood, Rowdy might test me. If I was in a hurry, he wouldn’t let me catch him. He taught me trust. He taught me not to trust too much. I learned to be a little leery. (p. 22)

The novella follows Sonia as she learns the ropes of horse training, her teenage summers spent working as a trainer in Denton in return for room and board. By eighteen, she’s working the racetracks full time, travelling the circuit and sleeping wherever she can – typically in a trackside stall, a truck or a cheap motel.

It’s a gruelling life, especially at the bottom-tier racetracks – a rootless existence, travelling from one place to another, working sixteen-hour days for little financial gain. Nevertheless, Sonia finds it rewarding in many other ways. She clearly has a genuine affinity for the horses, caring as best she can for their temperaments and needs. The best trainers work with their horses, not against them, and Sonia really seems to understand this, flexing her approach to what the horse wants to do. Moreover, Scanlan is particularly strong at conveying the routines and rituals of horse training, the day-to-day tasks that Sonia carries out with care and dedication. In effect, she is the horses’ caregiver, tuning in to their emotions alongside their physical needs.

You have your bandages laundered, rolled up, ready. You have your sheet cotton and your hoof packing. You groom them and put on leg liniments, run bandages. You might freeze their legs with ice or put them in a turbulator with epsom salts. They love to stand with the warm whirlpool water up past their knees. If their shoulders are stiff, you rub salve on and wrap them in plastic and pin a wool blanket around their neck. Pretty soon the sweat start dripping. It loosens them up, makes them feel good. (p. 70–71)

One of the things Scanlan does so brilliantly here is to preserve Sonia’s distinctive tone of voice, recounting the trainer’s experiences in a direct, matter-of-fact way. And yet there is genuine humanity and compassion here too, qualities that shine through in the dedication Sonia applies to her work. In some respects, Sonia’s narrative voice reminds me a little of Tove Ditlevsen’s, as conveyed in the equally remarkable Copenhagen Trilogy – a straightforward, unadorned delivery that feels all the more potent as a result. Like Ditlevsen, Sonia has her own traumatic experiences to deal with. At seventeen, she is raped at gunpoint by a man who breaks into her trailer, a jockey she knows from her work at the tracks. And yet, as with other ordeals and hardships, Sonia deals with this incident stoically, taking measures to protect herself as best she can.

The guy sobered up, I knew him, I seen him every day, I knew exactly who it was—it was bad, but anyway, I survived. I cut my hair real short after that. (p. 42)

Working the racetracks becomes all-consuming for Sonia; it’s not just a job but a way of life, leaving little room for friends, family and relationships outside the racetrack community. Nevertheless, despite professional rivalries and competitiveness between trainers (and between jockeys), the racetrackers are a kind of family, helping and supporting their fellow members in times of need. For instance, when Sonia is severely injured by a horse (accidents are not uncommon in the world!), a fellow trainer and his wife step in, offering her a place to recuperate despite their previous disagreements.

For years and years you’re around nobody but racetrack people. You don’t have time for family. Your romantic relationships are short-lived because a rolling stone catches no moss. It’s hard, it’s grueling, it’s up and down. I had a lot of injuries. I could’ve been paralyzed real easy. The doctors stressed that to me—it wouldn’t take much. (p. 137)

Unsurprisingly, there are flashes of brutality lurking amidst the buzz of this strangely compelling world. Sonia doesn’t hold back on describing the disreputable tactics some (less ethical) trainers employ to pump up their horses immediately before a race. (If you’re sensitive to descriptions of animal cruelty, this might not be a book for you.) Nevertheless, Sonia doesn’t condone these dubious practices herself; rather, she is simply relaying the reality of the world around her, highlighting the cruelty for what it clearly is.

It feels as if Scanlan has compressed a whole life within the pages of this slim book – the sense of economy and precision is remarkable, calling to mind Denis Johnson’s novella Train Dreams, which captures the life of a railroad construction worker in the early 20th century. There is also something of Chloé Zhao’s films here, particularly The Rider, in subject matter and style. Yet, irrespective of these comparisons, Scanlan has crafted something extraordinary with this book – the composite portrait of a woman’s life, illuminated with grace, stoicism, openness and humanity. I found it utterly compelling – a window into a world I knew nothing about.

Kick the Latch is published by Daunt Books; my thanks to the publishers for kindly providing a review copy. This is my second review for Karen and Lizzie’s #ReadIndies event, more details here.

43 thoughts on “Kick the Latch by Kathryn Scanlan

    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Oh, excellent! Yes, it’s a world I knew very little about beforehand, but the way Scanlan has crafted the story really pulls the reader in. I’ll be very interested to see what you think of it!

      Reply
  1. Elle

    I heard about this from a colleague, who loved it. It almost sounds like a version of Svetlana Alexievich’s work, selecting and arranging oral testimony, except with only one person instead of a whole community. (And being defined by its author as fiction, which Alexievich’s writing isn’t.)

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      That’s such a fascinating reference point, Elle! I’ve been thinking about reading Alexievich for a while, especially since she won the Nobel a few years ago, but the traumatic nature of the subject matter remains a bit of a psychological barrier for me. My problem, I know…but I would like to try her at some point!

      Reply
      1. Elle

        Chernobyl Prayer is a very good one—different trauma to war trauma, if that makes any difference! (I think it’s now published as Voices From Chernobyl.)

        Reply
  2. bookbii

    This sounds excellent, I love books that work well with fragmentary writing. It’s a kind of storytelling which is at once both right and open, always admirable when someone is able to pull it off.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Yes, I suspect it takes great skill to craft something so spare (in terms of prose style) yet full of life in the world it conveys. A very impressive book. I picked it up with the intention of reading the first few pages, just out of curiosity when it arrived, and before I knew it I was halfway through!

      Reply
  3. Julé Cunningham

    This does sound like a beautifully written book with an interesting approach to telling the story of Sonia’s life from your lovely review, but… it’s not for me. I’m sure I’d enjoy the descriptions of the connections between horses and humans, but the setting puts me off entirely.

    Reply
  4. mallikabooks15

    Sounds excellent but the animal cruelty bits will be hard for me I know. But while in a totally different context, reading about this had me thinking of Dick Francis whose books I have enjoyed in the past, though those too at times involve violence which I don’t deal with too well either.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Even though I’ve never read anything by Dick Francis, I can see why he might spring to mind here with his intimate knowledge of the horse-racing world…

      Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      I thought it only fair to flag it up, even though these occasional references to dubious practices by other trainers are not a big part of the book by any stretch. The story is much more focused on Sonia and her life and work as a trainer, so there are no graphic examples or descriptions of cruelty – just one or two mentions of it as part of this world. That said, I’m aware that some readers appreciate (and possibly expect?) content warnings on this topic, even for one or two brief references, hence the mention of it in my piece…

      The cover is stunning, isn’t it? So eye-catching!

      Reply
  5. gertloveday

    Not for me I think,but I know a couple of young women (daughter’s friends) who work in the racing industry so I will recommend to them They both came into this area of work after falling passionately in love with horses when they were sent to a riding program on school holidays.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Oh, cool. Many thanks for that. I often keep reading friends in mind when I’m looking through other reviews, especially those for contemporary crime fiction and psychological thrillers!

      Reply
  6. CLM (@ConMartin)

    I was just thinking, “This is all very well but there is so much abuse of women in this business,” when I reached the part where she was raped. Imagine having to go on in the small racing community when you know your attacker.

    I just read Geraldine Brooks’ novel Horse which I recommend to anyone interested in history and racing.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      I know, it must have been so hard for her to do that, but she didn’t want to tell her family because she knew they would come and take her away from the tracks. So, in effect, she had to remain silent for fear of losing a foothold in a world that she loved…

      Reply
  7. Laurie Graves

    Your compelling review makes me want to read this compelling book. I have to admit I am a big fan of concise, matter-of-fact writing, especially when the story deals with fraught subjects. I really hate overwriting, and I have stopped reading a book because of it.

    Reply
  8. heavenali

    I’m generally not very interested in horses and racing, etc, but you do make this sound very good. A fascinating portrayal of a difficult, rather gruelling way of life. However, the horse racing stuff, especially the cruelty, as well as sexual assault would put me off unfortunately.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      I totally get it, although the references to dubious practices by other trainers are quite low key and not a big part of the book by any stretch. The story is much more focused on Sonia and her life and work as a trainer, so there are no graphic examples or descriptions of cruelty – just one or two mentions of it as part of this world. (I’ve seen far worse in other books!) And yes, the cover is fantastic – so eye-catching!

      Reply
  9. naomifrisby

    Great review, Jacqui. I’m about 2/3 of the way through the book and, as I frame everything through a class lens, I’m most intrigued as to how Scanlan created a realistic, but also seemingly accurate, portrait of a woman from (I assume) quite a different world to her. It’s a skill that few writers have, I think.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Lovely to hear from you, Naomi, and I really hope all is going well! Also great to hear that you’re getting a lot out of this book. It’s so unusual, isn’t it? I don’t think I’ve come across anything quite like it before…

      That’s a really good point about Scanlan’s ability to preserve an authentic portrait of Sonia’s life in spite of the fact that it’s almost certainly a world away from her own. I’d love to hear an interview or discussion with her about how she managed to do that. It’s clearly been very carefully crafted to maintain the sense of realism…

      Reply
  10. james b chester

    I’ve recently returned to book blogging after several years away. It’s nice to see book blogs are still getting decent ARC’s from publishers. I’m not trying to blog enough to get them anymore, myself, just here now and then for my own amusement mostly. But I’m happy to see it’s still going on. And this does sound like a good read, too.

    Reply
  11. Pingback: A-Z Index of Book Reviews (listed by author) | JacquiWine's Journal

  12. 1streading

    I think I must have missed this originally but I’m so glad you enjoyed this book as I have just bought a copy! (Pleased with the Denis Johnson comparison as well).

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Brilliant! I’ll be interested to see what you think. Train Dreams feels like a natural reference point here, the sense of a life being compressed into the pages of a slim book with real skill and economy. (I very much doubt I’m the first person to make that comparison!)

      Reply
  13. Janakay | YouMightAsWellRead

    I have a copy of this, thanks to a subscription to New Directions (it’s U.S. publisher). I appreciate the content warning; I’ve avoided the book because I was concerned about how graphic it would be — any “sport” involving animals has cruelty issues. Still, I’m a little hesitant — this one has lots of competition for reading time right now!

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      I can imagine! That said, the mentions of cruelty and dubious practices are brief and not graphic/gratuitous in any way, so I think you’ll be able to get past them without feeling bruised. It’s also a VERY quick read. Literally one-sitting for me, which is quite a rarity given my snail-like pace!

      Reply
  14. Pingback: Summer reading round-up | Pechorin's Journal

  15. Pingback: Soldier Sailor by Claire Kilroy | JacquiWine's Journal

  16. Pingback: Books of the year 2023, my favourites from a year of reading – recently published books | JacquiWine's Journal

  17. Pingback: Best of 2023 – an even dozen | Pechorin's Journal

Leave a comment or reply - I'd love to hear your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.