Rediscovered literary gems – a few of my favourites from the shelves  

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote about A Silence Shared, a lovely rediscovered classic by the Italian writer and artist Lalla Romano (tr. Brian Robert Moore). First published in 1957, this haunting, dreamlike novella was recently reissued by Pushkin Press in a beautiful new edition for a whole new generation of readers to enjoy.

In many ways, that review reminded me of just how much interest there is in these rediscoveries from the past at the moment. Naturally, trailblazing publishers such as Virago Press and Persephone Books have been championing this area for several years; but other, more recent imprints are also contributing to the renaissance, enhancing the current demand for these fascinating rediscoveries. It’s certainly an area that chimes very strongly with my own reading interests, especially women writers from the mid-20th century.  

So, to cut a long intro short, I thought it might be interesting to highlight some of my favourite rediscovered classics from recent years – I’ve deliberately avoided selecting anything from Virago or Persephone as they probably warrant posts of their own at some point!

Maud Martha by Gwendolyn Brooks (1953)

Every now and again, a book comes along that captivates the reader with its elegant form and glittering prose. Maud Martha is one such book, painting an evocative portrait of the titular character’s life from childhood to early adulthood. Over the course of the novella, which is written as a series of short vignettes, we follow Maud Martha through childhood in Chicago’s South Side, her early romances as a teenager, to marriage and motherhood, moving seamlessly from the early 1920s to the mid-’40s. I loved this book for its gorgeous, poetic prose and beautiful use of imagery. A wonderful rediscovery courtesy of Faber Editions, a fascinating imprint dedicated to showcasing radical literary voices from around the world.

(Other Faber Editions to seek out include the captivating Mrs Caliban, a subversive feminist fable by Rachel Ingalls, and the excellent Termush, Sven Holm’s unnerving post-apocalyptic dystopia, still wildly relevant today.)

Forbidden Notebook by Alba de Cespedes (1952, tr. Ann Goldstein 2023)

Recently reissued by Pushkin Press, Alba de Cespedes’ novel Forbidden Notebook is a remarkable rediscovered gem of Italian literature, a candid, exquisitely-written confessional from an evocative feminist voice. The novel is narrated by forty-three-year-old Valeria Cossati, who documents her inner thoughts in a secret notebook with great candour and clarity, laying bare her world with all its demands and preoccupations. For Valeria, the act of writing becomes a confessional of sorts, an outlet for her frustrations with the family – her husband Michele, a somewhat remote but dedicated man, largely wrapped up in his own interests, which Valeria doesn’t share, and their two grown-up children who live at home. As the diary entries build up, we see how Valeria has been defined by the familial roles assigned to her; nevertheless, the very act of keeping the notebook leads to a gradual reawakening of her desires as she finds her voice, challenging the founding principles of her life with Michele.

I adored this illuminating exploration of a woman’s right to her own existence in the face of competing demands. (Fans of this book might also appreciate Anna Maria Ortese’s stories and reportage, Evening Descends Upon the Hills, another superb reissue from Pushkin.)

O Caledonia by Elspeth Barker (1991)

First published in 1991 and more recently reissued by Weidenfeld & Nicolson as part of their W&N Essentials series, O Caledonia was Barker’s only novel. It’s a dazzling gem of a book, rich in a wealth of vivid imagery – clearly the product of a highly imaginative writer with a sharp eye for detail and an affinity for outsiders. Ostensibly a coming-of-age narrative, the novel blends elements from a range of literary traditions, from the Gothic novel to Classical Myths, skilfully weaving them into the fabric of the text. Andy Miller (of Backlisted fame) described it as Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived in the Castle meets Dodie Smith’s I Capture the Castle, a description that certainly rings true. There’s also a dash of Barbara Comyns here – Barker’s prose is expressive and evocative, portraying a world that combines the sharply recognisable with the macabre and the surreal. A kaleidoscopic, jewel-like novel with a noticeably poignant touch.

Valentino and Sagittarius by Natalia Ginzburg (1957, tr. Avril Bardoni 1987)

The publishing arm of Daunt Books has been championing the critically-acclaimed Italian writer Natalia Ginzburg for the past five years, and rightly so – she is a marvel! Last year, I loved All Our Yesterdays, Ginzburg’s rich, multilayered novel following two very different neighbouring Italian families during the Second World War. It’s a truly remarkable book, a story of ordinary people living through extraordinary times.

Luckily for UK-based readers, Daunt has also just reissued two of my favourite Ginzburg novellas, Valentino and Sagittarius, in gorgeous new editions. Both stories deal with the messy business of family relationships, the tensions that arise when one person behaves selfishly at the expense of those around them. When viewed together, they highlight how foolhardy we can be, especially when investing all our hopes in a particular individual or venture – the fallout for the surrounding family members is often painful in the extreme. So, two brilliant novellas here, each representing an excellent introduction to Natalia Ginzburg, a writer whose insights into the minor tragedies in everyday life are remarkably astute.

The Caravaners by Elizabeth von Arnim (1909)

Over the past five years, Handheld Press has been reissuing forgotten gems from a variety of 20th-century writers, including Rose Macaulay, Margaret Kennedy and Sylvia Townsend Warner.

Elizabeth von Arnim’s The Caravaners is a satire of the highest order, not least because the novel’s narrator – the German baron, Otto von Ottringel – is a colossal ass, a pompous, insufferable individual with absolutely no self-awareness. The novel focuses on a caravanning holiday through the countryside of Kent, ostensibly to mark the von Ottringels’ silver wedding anniversary. What von Arnim does so well here is to let the reader see how Otto is perceived by those around him, even though the novel is narrated entirely from the baron’s own viewpoint. In short, this is a brilliantly-written book, one that casts a sharply satirical eye over such subjects as misogyny, class differences, power dynamics in marriage and Anglo-German relations during the early 20th century – not to mention the delights and follies of caravanning in the inclement British weather!

(Jane Oliver and Ann Stafford’s Business as Usual is another Handheld favourite, also warmly recommended here.)

More Was Lost by Eleanor Perényi (1946)

In many respects, the NYRB Classics imprint is the quintessential source of rediscovered gems. Their list is chock-full of literary gems from the past, beautifully recovered in their stylish trademark livery.

There are so many options to choose from here, but I’ve plumped for More Was Lost, a remarkable memoir by the American-born writer Eleanor Perényi. In essence, the memoir covers the early years of Eleanor’s marriage to Zsiga Perényi, a relatively poor Hungarian baron whom she meets while visiting Europe with her parents in 1937. It’s a gem of a book, both charming and poignant in its depiction of a vanishing and unstable world, all but swept away by the ravages of war. By turns beautiful, illuminating, elegiac and sad; a rare book that feels both expansive in scope yet intimate in detail.

(Dorothy Baker’s superb novel, Cassandra at the Wedding, and Olivia Manning’s equally brilliant School for Love would also be excellent choice from the NYRB Classics list.)

Territory of Light by Yuko Tsushima (late 1970s, tr. Geraldine Harcourt)

I loved this. A beautiful, dreamlike novella shot through with a strong sense of isolation that permeates the mind. Originally published as a series of short stories, Tsushima’s novella focuses on a year in the life of a young mother recently separated from her somewhat ambivalent husband. There is a sense of intimacy and honesty in the portrayal of the narrator’s feelings, something that adds to the undoubted power of the book. Themes of isolation, alienation and disassociation are heightened by the somewhat ghostly nature of the setting – an apartment located in a commercial building where the mother and child are the sole occupants at night. Reissued by Penguin in 2019 as part of their Modern Classics series, it’s a wonderful rediscovery – strangely unsettling in tone yet thoroughly compelling.

(Irmgard Keun’s evocative novella Gilgi, One of Us is another favourite PMC, a striking portrayal of a determined young woman set in Weimar-era Cologne.)

Chatterton Square by E. H. Young (1947)

Probably the richest, most satisfying entry in the British Library’s Women Writers series so far, Chatterton Square is a novel of contrasts, an exploration of lives – women’s lives in particular – in the run-up to the Second World War. On the surface, Chatterton appears to be a straightforward story of two neighbouring families – one relatively happy and functional, the other much more constrained. However, the degree of depth and nuance that Young brings to her portraits of the main characters makes it a particularly compelling read – more so than my description suggests. Set in Upper Radstowe’s Chatterton Square – a place modelled on Bristol’s Clifton – the novel features one of the most pompous fictional characters I’ve ever encountered: Herbert Blackett, a conceited, self-absorbed puritan who considers himself vastly superior to his more relaxed neighbours.

(The Home, Penelope Mortimer’s brilliant but painful exploration of life after a separation, and Tea is So Intoxicating, a delightful social comedy by Mary Essex, are also fully deserving of mentions here.)

So, there we have it – a lovely selection of literary gems for you to peruse!

Do let me know your thoughts if you’ve read any of these books. Or maybe you have a favourite rediscovered classic you’d like to share with others. If so, please feel free to mention it below.

54 thoughts on “Rediscovered literary gems – a few of my favourites from the shelves  

  1. madamebibilophile

    Lovely post Jacqui – so many treats and temptations! I was just thinking the other day that it’s been a while since I read EH Young and I really enjoy her. I’d forgotten BLWW had reissued Chatterton Square, which I’ve not yet read…

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Oh, it’s excellent! I need to have a proper look at her other books at some point, particularly as Chatterton Square was so good. Miss Mole is another lovely one, too.

      Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      I can’t recommend it highly enough, especially if you’ve enjoyed the Shirley Jackson or Dodie Smith in the past. (Ditto Barbara Comyns, who seems to be another touchstone for Barker’s work.)

      Reply
  2. kaggsysbookishramblings

    Lovely post, Jacqui and such an interesting selection of books and authors. I’ve only read the Perenyi and the von Arnim, both of which I loved (though I did want to slap Otto…) I did, however, pick up a copy of Territory of Light just this morning; I’ve read a few short pieces by Tsushima and enjoyed them, so couldn’t resist this in the end!!

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Oh, I loved Territory of Light so much! Tsushima has a wonderful talent for using imagery. There’s a particular scene involving a rooftop that really sticks in my mind. I won’t say any more just to avoid any spoilers, but I find myself thinking about the image every now and again.

      Reply
  3. Laurie Graves

    I recently read “Maude Martha” and really, really liked it. Might be one of my favorite books of the year. Somehow her sketches came together to paint a vivid picture of the life of a black woman in mid-century America. The joys as well as the sorrows.

    I have added six of your suggestions to my already long TBR list. Might start with Tea Is Intoxicating.

    Just finished Quartet in Autumn by Barbara Pym. My oh my, how I loved that book. Didn’t want it to end. Pym drew me into the world of these somewhat normal characters—well, at least two of them might qualify—and I really came to care for them. Although the book was sad, with loneliness as one if its themes, I felt as though it ended on hopeful note, especially for Letty, who was sure she was boring. No, she was not!

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Oh, I’m so glad you liked Maud Martha! And yes, I agree, Brooks does a great job in capturing the heartaches and prejudices in this young woman’s life alongside the undoubted pleasures. The vignette-style narrative works so well here, doesn’t it? Possibly because Brooks was a poet?

      And Pym’s Quartet in Autumn is just brilliant, isn’t it? Like you, I felt hugely invested in the lives of those four characters, partly because we get to know them so well over the course of the book. (Pym is such a compassionate writer, and I think this encourages us to care for these people and their day-t0-day preoccupations.) It was interesting to see their different coping strategies too, some more successful than others. Anyway, I’m delighted to hear that you loved the book, Laurie – it’s probably my favourite Pym!

      Reply
  4. elkiedee

    In fact Chatterton Square was one of several E H Young books to be published by Virago as well as this new reprint. I have that edition. I still have to read it and her other books.

    A friend has kindly given me 11 of the British Library Women Writers reprints, including the Penelope Mortimer one you mention above. I’m reading Eleanor Scott’s War Among Ladies just now.

    You mention Rachel Ingalls. As well as Mrs Caliban, Faber has reprinted a number of her other novellas drawn from different collections as a selected works volume. I’m reading it at the moment. It does have some shades of Shirley Jackson although the characters are often Americans travelling abroad, quite affluent and apparently glamorous, but then….. They’re not very likeable though. I wonder if some of this links to Ingalls’ decision to live in London/England rather than in the US for a lot of her adult life. It’s really quite disturbing reading. I first read some of her work in the early 1990s (I think) courtesy of Leeds City Libraries, later acquired a few of her books secondhand and have spent years looking for more without much success.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      That’s such a lovely present to receive…your friend sounds very generous indeed! I’ve yet to read War Among Ladies, but there’s a copy in my tbr pile, so hopefully I’ll be able to get to it later this year.

      I’m also very interested in that Faber collection of Ingalls’ novella you’ve mentioned here. Someone else was raving about it on Twitter the other day, so it’s on my radar for sure. And your reference to shades of Shirley Jackson is another strong selling point – I’ll have to pick it up at some point, maybe in time for autumn as it sounds like a dark read.

      Reply
  5. heavenali

    I am a big fan of these rediscoveries, as I think you know. I don’t know where I would be without publishers like Virago, Persephone, the British Library and many others. Lovely to see Elizabeth von Arnim and EH Young on your pile, I wish EH Young was better known. I adored Territory of Light and only recently read Maud Martha. Natalia Ginzburg is on my radar with All our Yesterday’s on my tbr book trolley.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Yes, absolutely – I think you’ve been championing these kinds of rediscoveries, particularly books from neglected/forgotten women writers, for many years! And I couldn’t agree with you more about E.H Young – she is excellent, and I’d love to see more of her work (e.g. Jenny Wren) back in print.

      Territory of Light is wonderful, isn’t it? So haunting and dreamlike yet rooted in a reality we can all relate to. (Funnily enough, Karen just posted a photo of a lovely little hardback copy of it on Twitter, one of the small Penguin Clothbound Classics, I think!) And I think you’ll love Natalia Ginzburg, she’s right up your street.

      Reply
  6. Julé Cunningham

    Your’ve highlighted one of my favorite publishing developments, the re-issuing of ‘forgotten’ books. It’s interesting to watch even big mainstream publishers joining in with imprints specializing in out-of-print titles.

    Among independent or smaller publishers NYRB and Pushkin are two of my favorites, and three others I’d highlight are those who have also done an amazing job in finding and re-issuing titles we wouldn’t have otherwise, especially books from outside the US/UK juggernaut – Europa Editions, Archipelago Books, and Glagoslav Publications.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Three great recommendations there, Jule – thanks for those. Archipelago titles aren’t the easiest to get hold of over here (I don’t think I’ve ever seen them in a UK bookshop), but they do have a wonderful list. Europa Editions are better represented over here as they’re part of the Independent Alliance, which really helps with promotion and distribution.

      Reply
  7. Lisa Hill

    I have been thinking along similar lines, about how often books from the mid 20th century to about 1980 are so often more satisfying reading than many current releases. I can’t yet formulate why this is — I don’t think it’s nostalgia — but it’s interesting to see that publishers are sensing an opportunity…

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      I think it’s partly because these books have stood the test of time in some way. In other words, they’re very well written and have something interesting to say about the the period / setting at the time (e.g. what life was like for women back then). And in some instances (e.g. Kay Dick’s They or Sven Holm’s Termush) they feel quite prescient given their relevance to current events. By comparison, I can’t imagine many people reading Lessons in Chemistry in 20 or 30 years’ time, despite its undoubted popularity right now. Can you?

      Reply
  8. David Hebblethwaite

    Hi Jacqui – excellent round-up! I love Maud Martha, such vivid writing – and I’ve also enjoyed what I have read of Natalia Ginsburg. I think one of my favourite reissues from recent years is Berg by Ann Quin, the modernist saucy seaside postcard that I never knew was missing from my reading life.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Thanks, David! That’s a great recommendation for Ann Quin’s Berg, a book that’s been on my wishlist for the longest time. There’s even a boarding house somewhere in the mix (IIRC from the blurb), so that’s another very strong selling point for me. I shall have to pick it up!

      Reply
  9. Claire 'Word by Word'

    This is a wonderful post to bookmark, thank you Jacqui. There is something about the passage of time, that allows some novels to resist it, to remain relevant and for publishers to employ those who are able to identify them, something like an “archive agent” spotting the reprint versus the new voice that might become a classic one day.

    I’ve always loved reading about the NYRB books that feel like literary gems that ice often come across here, thanks to how widely and knowledgeably you read.

    I recently read that 100 titles from the historic Heinemann African Writers Series (virtually impossible to source) are to be re-released under an imprint called Apollo Africa and they’ll feature some equally poignant, women voices of the past like Buchi Emecheta, Bessie Head and Flora Nwapa.

    Alba des Céspedes Forbidden Notebook was a breathtaking read, one that pinpoints an awakening, I thought it was excellent. I’ve been longing to read Natalya Ginzburg and will certainly source a few if hers this year thank again to your encouragement, I do like discovering the gems from elsewhere, those niche publishers resurrecting forgotten voices are doing such a great service to readership.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Thanks, Claire. Yes, we’re so lucky to have publishers that invest in this area, often with the help of archive moles such as Lucy Scholes, Becky Brown, Ella Griffiths (at Faber) and Marigold Atkey (at Daunt). They really seem to have developed the knack for identifying the ‘right’ types of forgotten gems – books that still have something to offer today’s readers, maybe as a contrast to the latest ‘buzz books’ of the day.

      I’m so glad you loved Forbidden Notebook, too. We may well have discussed this before, so apologies if I’m repeating myself here, but Pushkin have secured the rights to another couple of books by de Céspedes, due to be published next year, I think. And the Apollo Africa series sounds like a great development, especially as African writers still seem to be underrepresented compared to those from other continents. My knowledge of African literature is woeful, to say the least, so I’ll be interested to see what comes through from there in the future…

      Reply
  10. Susan Kavanagh

    I have bookmarked your wonderful post. I find it interesting that books published by Virago, such as Chatterton by Young and the Caravaners by von Armin are now being republished. I really enjoyed these books so I am glad to see them republished. Miss Mole, another Virago favorite by Young, has been republished by the Furrowed Middlebrow section of Dean Street Press.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Thanks so much, Susan! Yes, Virago really paved the way for several of these more recent imprints to follow, and it’s interesting to see some of the old green Virago titles getting another lease of life (possibly their third or fourth?) with another reissue elsewhere. Miss Mole is another excellent rediscovered gem, and it’s lovely to see another publisher picking it up. In fact, I’m glad you’ve mentioned Dean Street Press here, particularly as they seem to specialise in this area with the Furrowed Middlebrow series!

      Reply
  11. Liz Dexter

    A lovely piece! I like Dean Street Press, too, though I don’t suppose all of their Furrowed Middlebrow books count as literary. The British Library Women Writers’ series is excellent, although I found I didn’t have room to keep all of mine so shared a chunk of them; I loved O, the Brave Music from them. I wouldn’t be where I am today without Virago and Persephone, of course and actually Vintage Classics do a nice job of keeping some authors in the public eye (even if they unforgiveably reprinted all but a couple of Iris Murdoch’s novels in a new edition, not all of them!).

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      I know I keep saying this, but I really must investigate the Furrowed Middlebrow series of books from Dean Street Press at some point. They’re harder to find in bookshops than the other imprints featured here, which might be the reason I haven’t tried them yet, but I know you and Ali rate them highly. And that’s annoying about the Iris Murdoch reissues…I wonder why they left a couple of them out?

      Reply
      1. Liz Dexter

        Yes, it’s difficult, they are apparently available to trade through Gardners or Ingrams but my local bookshop was unable to source them so I have to buy them from Amazon which I don’t really like (but at least they’re selling some). And I don’t know re the IMs, we have surmised it’s the less popular ones they didn’t bother with but people like full sets, don’t they? I bought the new ones when I did my last re-read so was so disappointed!

        Reply
        1. JacquiWine Post author

          I just had a look at the Gardners website and they have very little in stock, just one copy of four different titles. A few others are listed as ‘Gardeners extended catalogue’, and we always call them directly for these items, just to ensure they can source them.
          That’s so frustrating about the Murdochs. As you say, it’s nice to have a matching set!

          Reply
  12. mallikabooks15

    A real collection of treasures here. It’s wonderful to see these gems being rediscovered and brought back in the public eye, and I’m so glad to see a fair few publishers contributing to this now. I haven’t read any of these so far though I have the Caravaners on my list and also the Ginsburgs from your reviews of a couple of her books.

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      Thanks, Mallika. As you say, it’s great to see the range of publishers getting into this area in recent years. I think Fitzcarraldo has just launched a new classis line with a landmark Brazilian novel from 1928, Macunaíma, by Mário de Andrade – so, another imprint to look out for.
      I hope you enjoy von Arnim’s The Caravaners and Natalia Ginzburg whenever you get a chance to read them.

      Reply
  13. 1streading

    An excellent idea for a post and some great suggestions – including a few I have read. I love when a writer’s work returns to favour, especially when it leads to a return to print (or, in the case of some writers, new translations) of other work – think, for example, of Hans Fallada or Irene Nemirovsky. There’s so much out there waiting to be discovered!

    Reply
    1. JacquiWine Post author

      That’s a really great point about new translations! In fact, I think Trevor (@mookse) mentioned something about a new translation of Natalia Ginzburg’s The Road to the City, coming from New Directions later this year. And the two writers you’ve mentioned, Fallada and Nemirovsky, are definitely worthy of further exploration. I’ve only read Alone in Berlin and Suite Francaise so far but would like to try more.

      Reply

Leave a comment or reply - I'd love to hear your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.